I’ve recently moved my blog from another host to WordPress.
I was super excited!!! New possibilities, new start, fresh ideas, great themes and more!!
Now, I know I’ve a lot to learn and it takes time, but DANG! There are some things you should just be told or warned about up front.
WordPress allows you to add media files to your posts! GREAT!
They even have a great little gallery for me to store my media files as I upload them! TERRIFIC!
Here it comes— the rant *stepping up on her little soap box*
I’m an organizer by nature. I like things nice and tidy. I tend to purge things that are taking up space I don’t necessarily need it to be taking up.
As I sat looking at me little media gallery on my WordPress dashboard, I thought to myself
“WOW, there are a lot of photos here just taking up space. I probably won’t use them again. Is there a delete option? OH YES! LOOK THERE IT IS”
So it begins. I am highlighting and choosing which photos to delete. You know, ones that I probably won’t be using in any other posts because they are so post specific.
I hit the delete button and BAM! Those photos are no longer taking up unnecessary space.
WHY!? Why did it never get brought to my attention that if I delete these photos, the posts they are in will no longer have them? Where was the little warning box reminding me that if I delete these photos it will affect the posts they are contained within?
Oh, that little box asked me if I was sure I wanted to delete the chosen files and at the time I WAS!
I’m more than a bit upset about this. I’ve so many posts that no longer have my beautiful photos. Gone, they’re just gone.
Sadly dear readers, I am not going to go back through every post and re-add every photo.
I am just going to keep moving forward. I apologize to you my dearest fans.
It just isn’t in me to sit through that entire mess and revisit every post.
I know you are an understanding lot and will continue to be devoted to my blog just as I am devoted to you.
I’ve learned my lesson. I now know I must leave every photo I upload, every PDF I create to share. I cannot delete them. They cannot be purged to create space that is being uselessly used by photos no longer useful.
But What Will I Do When The Space Is All Used Up?
Move my blog AGAIN? Delete photos and have none in the posts in which they lived?
Come on WordPress…What are my options here!? Do tell! Will I need to upgrade to a more expensive hosting? A bigger paying plan? Oh that’s just cheeky! Kudos to you for figuring out how to keep us always needing more!
What have you learned the hard way as a blogger?